|   866-681-NASC (6272)   |   Contact
Login   |    Verify Certification   

Accredited, Approved Providers and Approved Topics

Accredited, Approved Providers

Contact hours approved by any of the following groups are acceptable:

  1. American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)  
  2. An agency, organization, or educational institution accredited by ANCC  
  3. Any State Board of Nursing    
  4. Any state nurses’ association
  5. Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) 
  6. American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN)  
  7. American Association of Neuroscience Nurses (AANN)
  8. American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA)  
  9. Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric, and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN), formerly NAACOG)  
  10. American Academy of Family Practitioners (AAFP)  
  11. American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)  
  12. American Academy of Physicians Assistants (AAPA)  
  13. American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM)  
  14. National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women’s Health (NPWH) 
  15. National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners (NAPNAP)

Certificates from other groups deemed equivalent to those listed above may be accepted. This decision will be approved by the Executive Director in consultation with the Credentialing Manager.

Approved Topics

To ensure the validity of this credential and its consistency with industry standards, NASC requires contact hours earned for CRNFA recertification to be related to the first assisting role. Although the following is not an all-inclusive list, it provides a broad range of first-assisting related subjects.

  1. Anatomy and physiology
  2. Critical thinking skills
  3. Communication
  4. Disease management (HIV, hepatitis, diabetes, etc.)
  5. Discharge planning
  6. Ethics
  7. Infection control
  8. Leadership/supervisory skills
  9. Legal issues
  10. Nursing process
  11. Pain management
  12. Perioperative scope of practice
  13. Pharmacology
  14. Pre-, intra-, and postoperative patient care (patient assessment)
  15. Precepting
  16. Professional development
  17. Professional guidelines
  18. Research posters
  19. Surgical procedures
  20. Technology
  21. Research
  22. Evidence-based practice
  23. Quality improvement/quality assurance

The certificant is responsible for providing the certificates of attendance.

The following DO NOT meet the criteria for recertification and are, therefore, not acceptable:

  1. Handwritten accreditations statements or provider numbers
  2. Certificates of attendance without an appropriate accreditation statement and/or acceptable provider number
  3. Contact hours earned prior to January 1 of the year certified
  4. Provider numbers that do not state Board of Registered Nursing