|   866-681-NASC (6272)   |   Contact
Login   |    Verify Certification   

CRNFA Recertification

The certified status of an individual RN is conferred by NASC for a period of five years, at which time a CRNFA may seek recertification. The recertification requirements guide professional development activities in providing parameters for acceptable practice and in maintaining a link to the most current body of knowledge.

Certificants who are unable to recertify have the option of applying for a one-year extension or Emeritus Status.

What Must I Do to Recertify?

To recertify your credential, you must:

  • Meet the recertification eligibility requirements (these differ from requirements for first-time certification).
  • Choose contact hours or points as your recertification method.
  • Submit NASC’s recertification application during your recertification year.
  • Pay the application fee.

What Are the Eligibility Requirements to Recertify?

All of the following requirements must be met at the time of application for CRNFA recertification:

  • Be CRNFA certified
  • Be currently licensed, without provision or condition, as a registered nurse in the country where currently practicing
  • Have the minimum number of practice hours depending on the recertification method

In addition to the above eligibility requirements, all applicants must fulfill the requirements of the recertification method they choose.

Recertification Accrual Period and Deadlines

The accrual period is the time period in which the certificant must complete continuing education or professional development activities and practice hour requirements. You may submit your recertification application any time during your recertification year.

Click here to verify your certification and expiration year.

 If Your Certification ExpiresPeriod To Accrue Your Practice Hours and Contact Hours/Points
(Accrual Period)
Period To Submit Your Recertification Application
(Recertification Year)
December 31, 2023Jan. 1, 2018 to Dec. 31, 2022Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2023
December 31, 2024Jan. 1, 2019 to Dec. 31, 2023Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2024
December 31, 2025Jan. 1, 2020 to Dec. 31, 2024Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2025
December 31, 2026Jan. 1, 2021 to Dec. 31, 2025Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2026
December 31, 2027Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2026Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2027
December 31, 2028Jan. 1, 2023 to Dec. 31, 2027Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2028
December 31, 2029Jan. 1, 2024 to Dec. 31, 2028Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2029

CRNFA Recertification Methods

Certificants can choose to recertify by contact hours or points.

Recertification by Contact Hours

The contact hour requirement is based on the number of CRNFA practice hours. Recertification by continuing education contact hours requires the accumulated hours be awarded within the five-year accrual period.

 If you haveYou needThe CHs must be
1,000 clinical practice hours or more200 Contact Hours150 RNFA/Periop Related
Between 500 and 1,000 clinical practice hours300 Contact Hours225 RNFA/Periop Related

Contact hours must be earned through offerings sponsored by acceptable accredited providers. In addition, each certificate you are awarded for your continuing education activities must have an accreditation statement and/or provider number.

Click here for specific requirements of recertification by contact hours.

Recertification by Points

Recertification by points recognizes that professional development and competency maintenance may be accomplished in a variety of ways, including successful participation in various professional activities. The number of points a certificant must submit for recertification depends on the number of clinical practice hours the certificant has worked. Recertification by the points method requires the activities to be completed within the five-year accrual period.

If You HaveYou Need
1,000 clinical practice hours or more400 points
Between 500 and 1,000 clinical practice hours500 points

Click here for specific requirements of recertification by points.


 Early Recertification Fees
January 1 – July 1
Standard Recertification Fees
July 2 – December 31
Contact Hours$450$500
One-Year Extension$100$100
Emeritus (one-time fee) $125$125

How Do I Submit My Recertification Application?

You may submit your application using one of the following methods:

  1. Online application: Click the Login link at the top of this web page and then click “NASC Profile.”
    The first time you log in, click the orange “Request a Password” button to access your account using the email address we have on file for you.
  • Paper application: Click here to download the paper application.
    Mail the completed CRNFA Recertification application to: National Assistant at Surgery Certification, 8547 E. Arapahoe Road, Suite J-262, Greenwood Village, Colorado 80112-1436, Fax to 866-681-6272, or email to Please call NASC at 866-681-6272 to confirm your application was received.

A complete application includes:

  • Application, including personal and work information
  • Application fee
  • Signed Statement of Understanding

What Happens If I Am Audited?

10% of recertification applications are randomly selected by NASC for audit. Additionally, if there is reason to believe there has been a breach in the integrity of the process by an individual seeking recertification, NASC may also select those individuals for audit.

Applicants selected for audit will be required to submit additional documentation.   An email will be sent to the applicant detailing the results of the audit after the documents have been reviewed.

Alternatives to Recertification

If you are unable to fulfill eligibility requirements for certification, you have the option to apply for a one-year extension of your certification or for Emeritus Status.

One-Year Extension

An extension year allows an additional year to accrue the necessary points activities or contact hours for recertification. Your CRNFA credential will remain active during this time. Below are some key points regarding the extension year process:

  • The process is only available once every 10 years or 2 recertification cycles for the CRNFA certification.
  • The extension year lasts one calendar year and there are no extensions to that time period.
  • Your current recertification options remain unchanged for the extension year.
  • The fee for the one-year extension is $100.

To submit your application for a one-year extension:

Complete the One-Year Extension Application Online (For CRNFAs expiring in 2024)
Download the One-Year Extension Application (For CRNFAs expiring in 2024)
Mail the completed CRNFA extension application to: National Assistant at Surgery Certification, 8547 E. Arapahoe Road, Suite J-262, Greenwood Village, Colorado 80112-1436, Fax to 866-681-6272, or email to Please call NASC at 866-681-6272 to confirm your application was received.

Emeritus Status

NASC offers CRNFAs who are no longer working in the RNFA role the option to maintain their credential in an emeritus capacity with the CRNFA Emeritus Status or CRNFA (E). The Emeritus Status was established for CRNFAs who wish to retain a professional title without the need to meet future recertification requirements, and to recognize retired CRNFAs’ service and commitment to the perioperative profession along with their achievement and maintenance of the CRNFA credential.

To apply for Emeritus Status, you must currently hold the CRNFA credential in good standing. The one-time fee for Emeritus Status is $125. Once your application and fee have been received, your Emeritus Status certificate will be mailed to you within four to six weeks. 

Please note that once you retire your CRNFA credential, it cannot be reactivated. You would need to meet eligibility requirements and successfully complete the CRNFA Professional Portfolio to become certified again.

To submit your application: